Home IoT Cisco’s Journey to DoD 8140 Accreditation 

Cisco’s Journey to DoD 8140 Accreditation 

Cisco’s Journey to DoD 8140 Accreditation 


The CIO for the U.S. Division of Protection (DoD) has lately issued DoD Guide 8140.03 Our on-line world Workforce Qualification & Administration Program.

It is a role-based strategy to establish, develop, and qualify people who’ve federal work roles that align with the DoD Cyber Workforce Framework (DCWF).  The brand new 8140 mandate will influence a bigger variety of federal workers and contractors. Moreover, distributors supporting packages might also have to qualify.

Because the world of cybersecurity consistently adjustments, so do the data, expertise, and talents (KSAs) which can be related to the know-how. Due to this fact, the coaching wants to vary to handle these new threats to make sure they align with the brand new necessities. The Division of Protection (DoD) is within the technique of transitioning from DoD 8570.01-m work roles and related certifications to DoD 8140. Whereas beforehand, there have been 14 work roles, there’ll now be 52 work roles. Cisco is presently evaluating our present certifications and the way they align with the brand new DoD 8140 work roles.

Cisco’s DoD 8570 Certifications

Right now, DoD 8570 IAT certifications are nonetheless in impact. Which means CCNA covers Info Assurance Tech (IAT) I & II (See DoD CIO waiver hyperlink), and CCNP Safety covers IAT III. Moreover, CyberOps Affiliate is on the DoD 8570 CSSP analyst and incident responder classes.

Please see the Cisco DoD 8570 Compliance and Recognition web page for data.

Transition to 8140

Cisco is getting ready for the transition to 8140 by actively working with the DoD to align our certifications to the DCWF. Cisco understands that this evolution of the framework is a serious improve from the present DoD 8570.01-m Info Assurance Technician ranges I, II, and III.  As talked about above, the brand new framework can have over 52 work roles, with extra to come back.

The 2 Cyber Workforce components in DoD 8140 that Cisco will likely be centered on are: Our on-line world IT Workforce and Cybersecurity Workforce. These two components embody over 14 work roles which can be on the coronary heart of Cisco know-how.

Particularly, CCNA, CCNP Enterprise, and CCNP Safety certifications cowl the job roles that construct, configure, and function. To spherical out the talent necessities in these job roles, the CyberOps Affiliate and CyberOps Skilled certifications prepare people who safe, defend, and monitor networks.

Keep tuned as Cisco and the DoD collaborate to carry the most effective in coaching and certifications to the market.


DoD CIO Points DoD Guide 8140

U.S. Division of Protection (DoD) Cyber Workforce


Join Cisco U. | Be part of the Cisco Studying Community.

Comply with Cisco Studying & Certifications

Twitter | Fb | LinkedIn | Instagram | YouTube

Use #CiscoU and #CiscoCert to affix the dialog.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here